

**Cor Claeys** received the electrical-mechanical engineering degree in 1974 and the Ph.D. degree in 1979, both from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KU Leuven), Belgium.

From 1974 to 1984 he was a Research Assistant and Staff Member, respectively, of the ESAT Laboratory of the KU Leuven and since 1990, a Professor. In 1984, he joined IMEC as Head of Silicon Processing Group. Since 1990 he was Head of the research group on Radiation Effects, Cryogenic Electronics and Noise Studies. Recently, he became as Director Advanced Semiconductor Technologies responsible for Strategic Relations. He is also member of the European Expert Group on Nanosciences. His main interests are in general silicon technology for ULSI, device physics, including low-temperature operation, low frequency noise phenomena and radiation effects, and defect engineering and material characterization. He coedited a book on "Low Temperature Electronics" and on "Germanium-Based Technologies: From Materials to Devices" and wrote a monograph on "Radiation Effects in Advanced Semiconductor Materials and Devices". He also authored and coauthored eight book chapters and more than 800 technical papers and conference contributions related to the above fields. He has been involved in the organisation of a large number of international conferences and edited more than 40 Proceedings Volumes. He is an associated Editor for the Journal of the Electrochemical Society. He had short stays as Visiting Professor at the Queens University in Belfast, Ireland, and the University of Calabria, Italy.

Prof. Claeys is a Senior Member of IEEE and a Fellow of the Electrochemical Society. He was the founder of the IEEE Electron Devices Benelux Chapter, was Chair of the IEEE Benelux Section, was in the period 1999-2005 elected AdCom member of the Electron Devices Society (EDS), and was EDS Vice-President for Chapters and Regions during 2000-2006. Since 2000 he is an EDS Distinguished Lecture. In 2006, he has been elected as EDS President-Elect and became EDS President in 2008. He also received the IEEE Third Millennium Medal. Within the Electrochemical Society he has been serving in different committees and was Chair of the Electronics Division (2001-2003). In 1999 he was elected as Academician and Professor of the International Information Academy. In 2004 he received the Electronics Division Award of the Electrochemical Society.